Gearhead goals -- sport or hobby?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gearhead goals -- sport or hobby?

This is something ive been rethinking for a few years now and I keep changing my mind.
    I know an old street racer (carl P) very, very cocky and popular in the day, who is now very wealthy. I ask why he isn't interested in streetracing anymore. He says he could buy a "fast" turn-key car tommorow if he wanted and beat just about, if not, everybody but why? Other rich guys could do it too.
    I would say to him, because its fun or exciting, but quite often it isn't when you sit up all night with the threat of cops harrasing you. I would say because its satisfying but not so much when you know full well that a guy can take you with his turn key car having a larger shot of NOS, big power adder, or bigger motor. So I figure that the only way to avoid these pitfalls is to do this "with rules" as a sport rather then a hobby.
    Bracket racing is a hobby turned into a sport by the use of dial-in times which handycaps the guy with the big spray to a result that is more trivial then technical. Grumpy jenkins and others started pro-stock racing to eliminate this trivia and create a truely technical, all out, sport in which a smart guy beats the rich guy.