Drag strip ahead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drag strip ahead

Grew up drag racing and dont have much time on my hands and i'm young (no money/kid) but I've been doing the SSFR (MSRA) with my dad for a few years now with his car. I have decided to finally take my car this year just for fun.

First off I need new tires.
    After rebuilding the front end last year the front tires were shot. New tires and alignment done.

Still had poly glass tire on the rear? Found a set of rally rims and setup a pair of MT et streets radials. Better than the 35 year old ployglass tires.

Was worried if they would fit.

Got a lot more little things to do.
    Not expecting much but can't wait to actually drive MY car down the strip.
    Your input is welcome.
    What will it run?
    396 BBC
    350 turbo
    12 bolt posi w/3.55 gears

Car should run in the 12 if the combo is right. I know one thing, Getting the carb and timing right is important.
    I can give you one example of how a 396 can go, My last one was in my firebird, It was a 375hp shortblock with my home ported oval port closed chambered heads. The car now has the same trans, 3.55s and other driveline stuff as it did then. Went to the Rock in '98 and the car ran the best of 12.19@110mph through the mufflers, Uncorcked it ran 11.75 then I got the boot, 11.99 roll bar rule back then.

Post up the complete combo and I can give you a better idea of what it will run.

Comment

I like the steel wheel look.Your dad growed ya up good.

Comment

You need to put those disc brake center caps on those wheels. Great looking car.

Comment

Thanks guys. I've looked at chrome wheels but can't find what I like. The old steelies are I guess is what I like.

Question? I know its says if you are running slicks that a driveshaft loop is required. Do they consider the MT et streets as slicks or a just a DOT tire? I have a loop just need to install it if needed.

If it runs a 12.90 i'll be happy.

Comment